The changes will be rolled out from now through the end of the year, but the company shared a sneak peek of the new menu options.
It’s not all good news though as Mashable continues:
Your ability to remove yourself from Facebook search is, however, going away.
The New York Times explains the good, the bad and the ugly:
First, it is improving some privacy protections. The company is adding a new top-level control, called Privacy Shortcuts, that will allow people to quickly change who can see their “stuff” (as Facebook calls it) and who can contact them through the Web site. The shortcut will also feature a one-button link to block someone on Facebook.
But when Facebook giveth, Facebook taketh away.
The company is eliminating the ability for people to hide themselves on Facebook’s search, a control, that until now, has existed in the privacy settings on the company’s Web site.
Facebook users will need to carefully investigate how these changes will affect them.