The digital citizen

The educational origami wiki, complied by New Zealand teacher Andrew Churches, has a wealth of digital citizenship resources and includes the tenets of digital citizenship:

The Digital Citizen will follow six tenets of citizenship.

  1. Respect yourself
  2. Protect yourself
  3. Respect others
  4. Protect others
  5. Respect intellectual property
  6. Protect intellectual property

If we all remembered these six points when online, the world would be a much better place to live in. Check out the other excellent resources on the wiki here.

Six facets of digital citizenship

Andrew Churches, a world-renowned classroom teacher from Auckland has shared six underlying facets of digital citizenship for students (and adults) and an ethical approach to our digital world. These include:

  1. respect for others, 
  2. respect for ourselves 
  3. respect for intellectual property (piracy and asking permission to use)
  4. protecting yourself, 
  5. protecting others and
  6. protecting intellectual property