How to stay private on Facebook (yes, again…)

Last week, The Age reported that controlling your privacy on Facebook is about to become a whole lot easier.

If you’ve never played with your Facebook privacy settings, the first thing you’ll want to do is safeguard your future. On Facebook.com, click the little padlock on the top right, then under “Who can see my stuff” make sure “Friends” is selected – unless you want all your content to be public by default. As a further precaution, if you have a particular Facebook friend who you want to hide stuff from – a relative or a boss perhaps – add them to a “restricted list”. This will keep them as a friend but hide anything not set to “Public” from them, without their knowledge. To restrict a friend, go to their profile, hover your mouse over the “Friends” box, select “Add to another list” and then select “Restricted”.

The article also explains how to untag yourself in photos and how to see what your profile looks like to other users. Read the whole article here.

Staying safe on Instagram

Lois Smethurst, ICT Leading teacher at Berwick Lodge Primary School has developed an excellent guide for parents keeping their children safe when using social media photo sharing site Instagram. Lois explains:

Often the child’s picture is in the profile, often the child’s full name is in the profile, sometimes they have included the location of the photos on a map, and sometimes they have chosen inappropriate names or profile descriptions. There is a lot to think about in a social media site. If you wouldn’t share all of this information with a stranger you meet in the supermarket why would you share it online with people you have never met?

Read the whole guide here.

Facebook reverse tagging approval

Yesterday, ‘The Cybersafety Lady‘, aka Leonie Smith, alerted the world to the fact that Facebook has again changed their photo tagging policy. Previously you could modify settings so that tagging was not allowed by others.

She explains

The recent change is a bad change for privacy, you can now be tagged in a post or on a photo before you give approval.

The only thing you can do now if you have tagging approval enabled in privacy settings is prevent that particular post with the tag showing up on YOUR timeline, but only after it’s already gone out. You can also, as previously allowed to, go to the picture or post you are tagged in, and request the tag or picture is removed, (see below instructions) but as it says below, that tag may still show up elsewhere. The only way you can securely remove the tag, because you now cannot stop auto tagging, is if you go to the owner of the post and request to have the

tag removed, or report it as being abusive, which you probably don’t want to do if the person tagging you is a friend! It also appears there is no longer tagging approval allowed for posts, we are now getting automatically tagged in text posts. You used to get a message to approve tagging in a post before it appeared but now you just get notified you have been tagged. If you want to remove your name when its tagged in a post,  you can click the top right hand cross of the post and it will give you a drop down option to report and remove tag, this option used to be at the bottom of the post next to share.

Read the whole post here. The Cybersafety Lady’s blog is an excellent resource to follow.

Parents, there are consequences when posting your child’s photos to Facebook

Yomego, the social media agency recently posted a piece on parents posting their child’s photos to Facebook. The main issue they cite  is that we are all worried about our online privacy, but some of us are posting photos of young children – who have no say or even knowledge that their image is being published to an unknown audience. Read the article here.

How to keep Facebook from recognising your face

Following on from the post on this blog on 30 July entitled Facial recognition technology will make you hard to miss, Read Write Web has posted an article on how you can stop Facebook from recognising your face.

  • Go to privacy settings
  • Edit settings
  • Click on timeline and tagging
  • Click on who sees tag suggestions when photos that look like you are uploaded
  • Click on no-one

Read the whole article here.

Sydney man jailed over Facebook photos

In a first for social media, a Sydney man has been jailed over the photos he posted on Facebook. New South Wales Deputy Chief Magistrate Jane Mottley said:

New-age technology through Facebook gives instant access to the world … Incalculable damage can be done to a person’s reputation by the irresponsible posting of information through that medium. With its popularity and potential for real harm, there is a genuine need to ensure the use of this medium to commit offences of this type is deterred.

Read the entire article from the Sydney Morning Herald here.