Is this your daughter? A word about Instagram

Sydney educator Henrietta Miller has written an excellent blog post about the dangers of young adults using the photo app Instagram. Made popular by many celebrities, including Justin Bieber, your photos on Instagram can have a very wide audience, without you really knowing.

Did you know that not only can one view all the photos of your own followers and their followers, but if someone then likes a photo you have access to their portfolio as well?

Well worth a read. Thanks Henrietta for bringing this aspect of Instagram to our attention.

Google+ changes

As more people come online to Google+, it’s worth mentioning a few things to be aware of.

Find my face

This is an opt-in feature that you enable via Settings. It gives you the options to

prompt people you know to tag your face when it appears in photos. Of course, you have control over which tags you accept or reject, and you can turn the feature on or off in Google+ settings.

Instant upload

This is also an opt-in feature enabled via Settings. This gives you the option to automatically upload photos and videos to Google+ taken via your iPhone, iPod touch or iPad2. They begin as private, but you can change this if you want to share.

Instant Upload is only active while the Google+ iOS app is open, and for a brief period after you close it. Re-opening the Google+ app resumes your photo & video uploads exactly where they left off.

Let’s hope that Google+ keep these opt-in only and not move the goalposts a la Facebook.

Over 3 Years Later, ‘Deleted’ Facebook Photos Are Still Online

Wired online is reporting that even after three years, ‘deleted’ images previously uploaded to Facebook are still accessible online. Facebook say they are working on the issue.

“The systems we used for photo storage a few years ago did not always delete images from content delivery networks in a reasonable period of time even though they were immediately removed from the site,” Facebook spokesperson Frederic Wolens told Ars via e-mail.

Wolens explained that photos remaining online are stuck in a legacy system that was apparently never operating properly, but said the company is working on a new system that will delete the photos in a mere month and a half. For really real this time.

Read the Wired article in its entirety here.

Teens learn true dangers of cyberspace

Recently The Age published a report on what students are across in term of cybersafety. These include:

  • ‘stranger danger’
  • rejecting requests from randoms on Facebook

What they’re not across includes:

  • Google Images taking snapshots of any Facebook and/or Flickr photos that are not set to private
  • ramifications of sexting
  • implications of photo tagging

cybersafety tips

Protecting reputations online

This video from Common Craft quickly and simply presents

the long-term risks of sharing inappropriate information on the Web. It encourages viewers to “think before you click” and offers tips for being responsible with photos, video and stories. Points include:

  • Why photos are permanent on the web
  • Future consequences of sharing inappropriate info
  • Tips for protecting reputations (personal and friends)
  • What to do when inappropriate info is shared

View the 2.36 minute video here.

Photo smarts

Late last year, St Kilda footballer Nick Riewoldt was embroiled in a nude photo scandal. If he had have followed these simple steps, then it would never have happened:

  • If you are not happy to pose for a photo then DON’T.
  • If your photo was taken against your wishes, ask for it to be deleted and ask to check the camera that it has in fact been deleted (check trash as well).
  • Be aware that something done in jest may not seem so funny later on. Having it deleted from multiple sources is not as easy for individuals as it is for organisations like the AFL.
  • Any photo that you wouldn’t like your grandparents to see is probably a photo that shouldn’t exist. Think twice before you pose for or take a photo that could be embarrassing to you or to others.
  • Remember that any photo can be published. Even if your Facebook settings are private, or your Twitter tweets are protected, your “friends” can still pass it on.
  • Once a photo has been published, even if it is deleted later, others may have copied and kept it or republished it themselves.
  • Don’t publish or email photos of your friends without their permission.