Yesterday, ‘The Cybersafety Lady‘, aka Leonie Smith, alerted the world to the fact that Facebook has again changed their photo tagging policy. Previously you could modify settings so that tagging was not allowed by others.
The recent change is a bad change for privacy, you can now be tagged in a post or on a photo before you give approval.
The only thing you can do now if you have tagging approval enabled in privacy settings is prevent that particular post with the tag showing up on YOUR timeline, but only after it’s already gone out. You can also, as previously allowed to, go to the picture or post you are tagged in, and request the tag or picture is removed, (see below instructions) but as it says below, that tag may still show up elsewhere. The only way you can securely remove the tag, because you now cannot stop auto tagging, is if you go to the owner of the post and request to have the
tag removed, or report it as being abusive, which you probably don’t want to do if the person tagging you is a friend! It also appears there is no longer tagging approval allowed for posts, we are now getting automatically tagged in text posts. You used to get a message to approve tagging in a post before it appeared but now you just get notified you have been tagged. If you want to remove your name when its tagged in a post, you can click the top right hand cross of the post and it will give you a drop down option to report and remove tag, this option used to be at the bottom of the post next to share.